ringing in the new year

I hope you all had a great time while ringing in 2012! I, for one, had a blast, but recovering from the festivities is another story. On my first day back to work, I find myself extremely sluggish and rather depressed. I’ll get over it by tomorrow—and, hey, at least it’s not Monday. Since there isn’t much to look forward to in January, Hunter and I will be taking off Friday the 20th to go see the Vivian Maier exhibit at the Howard Greenberg Gallery in Manhattan. I can’t wait! Until then, I’m just going to have to suck it up! 🙂

I have some photos from New Year’s Day as well, but for now I’ll just post ones from New Year’s Eve. I spent last night watching Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris instead of processing all of my photos like I should have, but it was worth it! What a great movie!

Anyway, New Year’s Eve began with a beautiful fireworks display at Penn Treaty Park.

Photobucket

After the fireworks, we headed back to our house with our friends and had a glass of wine before going to the Mexican restaurant at which we had reservations. Although the staff seemed a little frazzled at the amount of guests they had, the food was excellent.

Photobucket

Photobucket

And, of course, we enjoyed some more wine. Why not?

Photobucket

Photobucket

After dinner, we headed over to World Café Live.

Photobucket

We had tickets to see the wonderful Philly Bloco, a Brazilian-style drum-heavy local band who is always a ton of fun to see.

Photobucket

Of course, we needed some drinks there, too. 🙂

Photobucket

Their dancers are always very entertaining to watch!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

And then the clock struck midnight and everyone went crazy!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Overall, it was a great night. We ended up going to a friend’s house after the show and not going to sleep until 6 a.m. Of course, that meant that we slept until 2:45 p.m. the next day and missed the Mummers Parade! At least we made it out for the party on 2nd Street afterwards, but that will have to wait until next post. I hope you all have a great 2012!

One thought on “ringing in the new year

Leave a Reply

