analog chicago, part one

It’s been almost a month and a half since my trip to Chicago, but I’m just now getting around to posting. Although I was there for only four days, I’d say I got a real feel for the city’s flavor. I really enjoyed myself! I met Elinor there, and we got a lot of shooting in. We saw the Bean (or Cloud Gate, formally), spent a lot of time in the amazing Art Institute, and saw Tail Dragger, a very entertaining, hip-shaking, old blues singer, at Buddy Guy’s. It was awesome. The architecture in Chicago is beautiful… the perfect backdrop for street photos. I’d like to go back in the next few months to explore more. Anyway, without further ado (and please excuse my dusty scanner… I hope to get a real negative scanner in the near future.):

Canon EOS 3, 24mm f/2.8, Tri-X, 11/06/09

Preparing to leave Philly… thought this was pretty funny.

After arriving at O’Hare

Exploring while waiting for my luggage to arrive…

A cute family on the train from O’Hare to the Loop

I got to the hotel before Elinor, so I stowed my luggage and met my friend Ted, who lives in Chicago, to show me around in the meantime. He took me to Grant Park, where there are great views of the skyline.

Almost no cars—a rare sight, from what I witnessed during my short stay.

I really wish the portrait that I took with my Pentacon came out, but for some reason the roll didn’t develop well. This guy was awesome, but I’m not too happy with my shot of him. I do like the similarities between the pattern on his shirt and the buildings behind him, however. I should have asked him for another with my 50mm, but I didn’t want to keep him any longer. Check out Elinor’s Polaroid of him… blows my shot out of the water!

Switch to Delta 3200 and 50mm lens:

Unfortunately, I underexposed this frame a bit, but I like the effect nonetheless. This guy is a street drummer; they play on Kikkoman soy sauce containers and are phenomenal.

Another one of these incredible street artists

John Malkovich’s estranged brother?

Millenium Park

Back to Tri-X and 24mm, 11/07/09

Watching Elinor’s Polaroid develop at the Art Institute

A moment of incredible light

That’s all for now. Stay tuned for scans from the last two days and another post for the digitals.

3 thoughts on “analog chicago, part one

Leave a Reply

