alaska

(Sorry for reposting the first half of the images, but I had forgotten to resize them to 1,000 pixels wide. I just decided to post the first and second parts together to save me another headache!)

In the beginning of June (yes, it takes me way too long to process and post my photos!), my mom, dad, and uncle invited me to come along with them on a cruise to Alaska after my grandfather cancelled at the last minute. Fortunately, I had no job to speak of and needed a good adventure to come my way! Unfortunately, however, I dropped my camera, lens-down, on my way out of the taxi that dropped us off at the ferry. Weak. It had a filter on it, so the actual glass of the lens wasn’t harmed, but the impact caused the focusing ring to become dislodged and the lens (a 28-200, great for wildlife sightings) now only focuses from 28-45mm. So, for the first part of the trip, when we were in Sitka and at the Hubbard Glacier, I was only able to take wide-angle shots and sadly missed a lot of opportunities to capture whales, sea lions on icebergs, and porpoises. That had me pretty bummed.

Thanks to my poker skills and the ship’s late-night cash game, I was able to win enough money to buy myself a Tamron 75-300mm lens (I know, the quality isn’t great, but I needed a zoom and that was all I could afford) in Juneau. Without that, I wouldn’t have been able to get any bald eagle shots. They make me feel a little better about missing the sea lions on icebergs (but not much!). Anyway, without further ado, please enjoy my photos (all digital… I have yet [surprise, surprise] to scan my film from the trip!) from Alaska.

Mom and Dad waving goodbye to Vancouver

Mom and Dad waving goodbye to Vancouver

IMG_5589 (1)

Arriving in Sitka

Arriving in Sitka

IMG_5653 (1)

IMG_5656 (1)

IMG_5660 (1)

IMG_5661 (1)

IMG_5663 (1)

IMG_5667 (1)

IMG_5672 (1)

IMG_5676 (1)

One of many of Alaska's totems

One of many of Alaska's totems

IMG_5684 (1)

This is Alice, whose family sold salmonberry jam

This is Alice, whose family sold salmonberry jam

IMG_5694 (1)

St. Peter's Episcopal Church

St. Peter's Episcopal Church

The view out my stateroom window of Mt. Edgecumbe, Sitka's resident volcano

The view out my stateroom window of Mt. Edgecumbe, Sitka's resident volcano

Failed attempt to bring back part of an iceberg

Failed attempt to bring back part of an iceberg at the Hubbard Glacier

IMG_5777 (1)

An egret under the pier when we docked in Juneau

An egret under the pier when we docked in Juneau

Tourists galore at the Mendenhall Glacier

Tourists galore at the Mendenhall Glacier

IMG_5832 (1)

A view from the ship on its way to Ketchikan

A view from the ship on its way to Ketchikan

IMG_5857 (1)

Ketchikan

Ketchikan

IMG_5931 (1)

There were so many bald eagles in Ketchikan that I obviously felt compelled to photograph every single one.

There were so many bald eagles in Ketchikan that I obviously felt compelled to photograph every single one.

IMG_5977 (1)

IMG_5996 (1)

IMG_5998 (1)

IMG_6013 (1)

Sunset on the way back to Vancouver. A nice way to end the trip!

Sunset on the way back to Vancouver. A nice way to end the trip!

More photos of the Hubbard Glacier to come, once I scan my film!

4 thoughts on “alaska

  1. I was looking around the internet for some photos taken with a Pentax K1000 which I was wanting to buy to learn some photography and I came across your blog. After visiting your website, I’ll definitely will buy that beautiful Camera. Greetings from Mexico City, keep up that great work.

Leave a Reply

