nicaragua, final installment

I’m going to put the rest of the photos in this entry, because I don’t feel like making any more installments!

Canon EOS 3, Velvia, Leon

img661

View of Leon from the old Samosa fort

img663

Alex and Hunter

img667

img668

We had to take a cab to the fort from Leon on the rockiest, dirtiest dirt road I think I’ve ever seen. At some points, I didn’t think the cab (an old, rickety… I want to say Peugeot?) would make it. It was worth the journey, though, and our cab driver explained some of the history to Alex, who in turn translated it to us. It was like a tour and cab ride all in one!

img678

Evidently, the fort isn’t entirely abandoned.

img683

img689

img690

We’re fairly certain that the shoes in the previous photo belong to that guy.

Portra 160 NC, Bus depot on the way to Nagarote, where Alex and Kaitlyn live.

img699

One of my favorite shots from the trip

img700

img701

img702

img697

img696

img705

img707

img709

img710

En route to Nagarote…

img713

img714

img716

The bus was delayed for a few minutes because it had to wait for this herd of cattle to cross the road. Quite an hilarious scene.

In Nagarote (EOS 3, Portra 160 NC)

img718

img717

img719

Alex in his backyard

img720

img723

img724

img725

img726

Lunch at Dona Elena’s, where Alex and Kaitlyn stayed until they moved into their own house around the corner. She was a very sweet woman and a great cook!

img731

img732

img733

img735

img737

img740

img742

img744

img745

img746

img747

img749

img750

img752

img753

Alex (Hunter and I were in a bike taxi) on the way to the poorer part of town

img758

img759

Another one of my favorites

img760

img761

Velvia, last roll of the trip…

img464

img763

img764

Our motortaxi driver, who said he lived in Raleigh for three years

img766

img768

img773

img769

Well, I hope you got at least a sense of how amazing a country Nicaragua is… hopefully I even intrigued you to want to visit someday!

6 thoughts on “nicaragua, final installment

  1. Yes, I would say it was safe, but do you speak Spanish? That would be the only thing I would worry about, because barely anyone there, especially outside of Granada and Managua, speaks English.

  2. did u find it a challenge adapting your eye to the colour?
    having had nyc as my muse–for street–
    its such a different approach anywhere else/
    did u find that to be the case?

  3. @Stefanie: The challenge was to be discriminatory about how much film I was using! 🙂 There was so much to photograph there, and the colors made it even more exciting.

    It was completely different than shooting in Philadelphia, that’s for sure. I don’t pay much attention to color here, because there really isn’t that much color to be found. I’m much more interested in the hustle and bustle here; and while that also interested me in Nicaragua, color played a major role in my compositions.

  4. Amazing images, Meredith. What I like about them is the contrast between children happiness and the reality they live in. Children always smile, we should learn from them. Great shots.

Leave a Reply

