the market, et cetera

It’s slowly been getting warmer, which is a welcome change. My cameras weren’t really huge fans of the cold. I’m happy to report, however, that my Pentacon Six is in working order, as far as I can tell. The frames were overlapping because of the cold, I guess. The last roll I got back, which was shot on a rare warm day, came back with no overlaps. I’m still going to have to shoot one more roll to test the shutter speeds, though, because they seem a bit slower than they should be. Alas, after all of this frustration, I discovered that my scanner doesn’t scan 120 film. I’ll try to sell it when I return from Nicaragua so that I can buy one that scans medium format.

I’ve been spending a lot more time in South Philly lately. I live just north of Center City, so the walk down to the Italian Market area is a pretty long one (with many things to be photographed on the way!). Here are some shots from the Italian Market and the surrounding area, and then some random ones (as usual).

Pentax k1000, 50mm, tmax400

img213

Immediately after I took this shot, the man pushing the shopping cart started screaming at me, using various words I’d care not to mention. I just ignored him, but I’m not going to say he didn’t intimidate me a bit!

img217Don’t ask, because I have no idea.

img208Friends!

img210

img214

Another shooter…

img218Accidental double-exposure… this has never happened to me before, so I was actually pretty excited. I like how it looks like he’s riding along the row of support beams.

img202

img204

img223This is what you get to look at while sitting on (hovering above, actually) the toilet of the POPE bar (near my now-favorite record store).

Now leaving South Philly… (still tmax)

img225Cliche, I know, but I can’t seem to get away from reflections.

img233A fitting image for these times… a wisp of my hair seems to have gotten in front of the lens.

img232Same guy, different angle. The light was awesome right there.

Now for some HP5+ (at 400). I don’t think I’ll ever shoot this film at 400 again. I still have a ton in my freezer from buying a batch of it on eBay. Not that it’s so bad, but for the price… Tri-X and Neopan are much prettier.

img183I think these cops were here for another cop’s memorial. There were at least two hundred of them in total. I have some closeups of the cops lining up, but I hated the way they turned out.

img186

img191I hate a lot of things about this shot, but somehow sort of like it. I really wish I hadn’t cut off the lefthand woman’s face.

img196

img198

I know… another reflection.

img199

img200

img194

I’ll end with another photo of the adorable girl I babysit. I’m lucky that the table gets such nice light, because she’s always doing her own arts and crafts there!

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “the market, et cetera

  1. You collected some great images on your photo walk. Wonderful. I’ve been yelled at several times. The worst was some bikers that actually surrounded me while they intimated me. Scared me….lol
    Isn’t it great that it is beginning to get warmer?

  2. Hi Meredith,

    You’ve taken some beautiful photos.

    I just stumbled upon your website because I’m doing a technical writing project on the Pentax K1000. I’m creating a handbook/guide for the camera. I was wondering if you would be interested in doing a brief interview with me about why you like to use the Pentax K1000 as opposed to other cameras. If you are interested, please email me at madtolive@gmail.com.

    Best,
    Brett

Leave a Reply

