another (mostly) street post

Time for a new blog. I’ve been shooting a decent amount lately. The Pentax doesn’t even fail me in the freezing cold. I love that cheap little camera.

Hunter and I purchased two round-trip tickets to Nicaragua. We’re spending the second week in March there. A friend of ours is in Peace Corps in Nagarote. There should be a ton of great photo opportunities there. I’m really excited.

I got back my first two rolls of 120 from the lab and both had overlapped frames. It’s strange, because the first few frames are okay, but then as the roll advances the frames get closer and closer together. I’m not quite sure how to approach this problem. I loaded it as tightly as I could, while rocking the lever back and forth instead of advancing it fully, and I still have overlap. Makes me think it’s an issue with the camera instead of my loading it. Anyway, it’s really frustrating. I’ll have to do some research.

Some 35mm scans, until then. 🙂

First, some Tri-X:
(Pentax k1000, 50mm)

img002

img003

Random Santa hanging from a rusty twisted wire in the middle of a deserted valley. Definitely making prints for next holiday season, dust and all.

img007

Reading Terminal Market.

img986

Some fine, open-minded folks from the Westboro Baptist Church. I’ve never seen them around Philly before. It was nicer that way.

img990

The Perelman Museum of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

img991

img992

Philly’s finest.

img996

img997

Shoe-shining service in the train station…

img994

I love this girl!

Now some Pan F 50…

img022

These girls were pissed at first when they saw me taking their photo, but after I told them I just liked the scene, they posed for another shot (which I never took).

img024

img026

I took this at Robin’s Books, Philly’s oldest bookstore, which is closing its doors. A pity.

img029

img025

I was really into shadows that day, since the light was awesome.

img037

img038

img040

img043

img044

Without fail, every roll that I get back from the lab has at least one frame with one of my fingers in front of the lens.

img048

Rittenhouse Square.

Lastly, a few frames of Delta 3200.

img929

Emo kid on cell phone.

img932

img953

img954

img955

img928

7 thoughts on “another (mostly) street post

  1. Enjoyable ones!


    Love this one. It’s pretty difficult to get away from cliches when it comes to shadows but I thought you got some decent shapes there. 🙂

  2. Meridith
    these images are amazing—–
    really really love ur street takes
    that cop needs need shoes…
    and many of these images have a feel of the Great depression
    *
    bravo…
    *
    on a self centered note–
    O—i wish i had people to take street peeps of.

Leave a Reply

