first post of the new year

Happy New Year! About time for another post. It’s been so cold out lately that I haven’t been going out to shoot as much as I usually do. I just came back from a walk downtown to pick up a roll of film; walking there was okay, but walking back—against the wind—was pretty rough.

Got a package in the mail yesterday… a nice-looking Pentacon Six. It seems to be working all right so far, but I caught the flu and was in bed all of yesterday, so I haven’t had time to figure it out yet. I’m afraid that I’ll mess up winding the first roll of film! Results to come… 🙂 Until then, some 35mm scans.

The first batch is from a roll of Ilford Pan F 50 that I shot with a Canon AE-1 (28mm f/2.8 lens) with a severe light leak. I’m going to order a kit to fix it, since it’s in excellent working order besides that. It’s a shame that most of the photos on the roll are ruined, because I quite like some of them.

Philadelphia

img822

They were looking at the “Friendship Arch” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:PhilaChinaArch.jpg) in the center of Chinatown, which was having some construction done to it. The light leak isn’t too bad in this one.

img815

img813

img812

img805

img804

Not really sure what was going on here. There were no signs of a fire, but many firemen about.

img803

img801

img800

img799

img7981

img7961

I’m pretty sure there was a drug deal going on here. Good thing it was broad daylight and there were lots of people around, or else I probably would have been in trouble.

img7951

The next batch was taken with a Pentax k1000, 50mm f/2.0 lens, apx400.

Philadelphia

img894

Cool guy.

img895

img896

img897

img899

Now a few from Boston:

img901

In case you can’t see, his sandals and the newspaper both say “sports”.

img902

Same character as the previous frame, taking a little snooze.

img904

Mid-slip?

img906

Hunter in a pretty scene.

Back to Philadelphia…

img910

img913

img916

This frame and the next were taken in the Italian Market, where you can get some of the best pizza ever.

img918

The last four were taken at the Perelman Museum, which is part of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

img921

img922

img924

img925

8 thoughts on “first post of the new year

  1. we use the same preset 🙂 didnt even know your blog. put you in my reader.. sorry for the lightleak.. happend to me as well (i think 5 rolls!) … the sleeping guy and the one right after it are my faves. cheers

  2. have u ever thought of making a book at Blurb?
    if u do–let me know.
    I loveeeeeeee –your work.
    IT FEELS to me.
    or it make me feel.
    I am drawn to your head shots here…
    and the natural texture of i suppose ur camera lens.
    the lighting on the person sleeping int he subway–amazing…
    adn the capture of the man walking up the staircase…….
    BRAVO…
    bravo…

Leave a Reply

