shock and awe

(written September 11, 2008)

I was walking down Broad Street (one of the most heavily trafficked streets in Philadelphia) a few nights ago and came across this sign, different versions of which were stuck to every telephone pole for three or four blocks.

Every one of these flyers was hand-written. It amazes me that someone actually had the free time to produce these. I guess with the anniversary of 9/11 being so close, someone decided to remind everyone that we’re not safe… that we should constantly be looking over our shoulder… but who has time to be eternally worried? And what’s the point, anyway? I think what we really need to worry about is our government… especially if McCain/Palin are elected. But let’s not get into that right now…

I continued walking down the same street and then came upon this flier, which may or may not be designed by the same person.

Yeah, this world is a pretty scary place. But why waste your time dwelling on what could happen to you? These fliers made me think of this Internet movie I watched a while ago, Zeitgeist. If you have some time to spare, it’s worth watching, though I’m sure some of you have seen it already. Some things are a bit far-fetched, as in most conspiracy theories, but it provides a different perspective to what we hear on the news and such. Of course, many of the movie’s ideas aren’t fresh… I’ve heard them elsewhere… but the part I found most interesting was the last. Check it out if you have time.

Here are a few more new scans… Pentax k1000, 50mm, Delta 3200.

I like this lady…

I was mostly interested in the newspapers here.

I love the emptiness in this frame.

Typical Love Park teenybopper scene.

Really like the light here.

Bird’s-eye view of the Schuylkill River.

On a hill… so it wasn’t me who made this slanted. πŸ˜‰

Pretty bokeh…

A bit blurry. Wish I had a 1.4 for the Pentax.

Love the light here…

πŸ™‚

Waiting for the train after the Soapbox Derby.

We did end up going to the Soapbox Derby after all… and man, did we get soaked. It was pretty funny anyhow, and we even got to see the mayor of Philadelphia, Michael Nutter, go down the hill in a soapbox, which made it all worthwhile. Hope you all have great weeks!

One thought on “shock and awe

  1. Hi Meredith. Love the ‘paranoid’ shot and what you’ve been doing with film lately in general. It’s been good catching up!

    Coincidentally, I was re-watching Zeitgeist about the time you posted. I also stumbled across the official download version of The Corporation too. It’s all good!

Leave a Reply

